From the 4th century: Bantu-speaking groups settle, joining the indigenous San and Khoikhoi people.

1480s: Portuguese navigator Bartholomeu Dias is the first European to travel round the southern tip of Africa.

1497: Portuguese explorer Vasco da Gama lands on Natal coast.

1652: Jan van Riebeeck, representing the Dutch East India Company, founds the Cape Colony at Table Bay.

Timeline of the Black/White conflict can be here

1795: British forces seize Cape Colony from the Netherlands. Territory is returned to the Dutch in 1803; ceded to the British in 1806.

1816-1826: Shaka Zulu founds and expands the Zulu empire, creates a formidable fighting force.

1835-1840: Boers leave Cape Colony in the ‘Great Trek’ and found the Orange Free State and the Transvaal.

1852: British grant limited self-government to the Transvaal.

1856: Natal separates from the Cape Colony.

Late 1850s: Boers proclaim the Transvaal a republic.

1867: Diamonds discovered at Kimberley.

1877: Britain annexes the Transvaal.

1878 – 79: British lose to and then defeat the Zulus

1880-81: Boers rebel against the British, sparking the first Anglo-Boer War. Conflict ends with a negotiated peace. Transvaal is restored as a republic.

Mid 1880s: Gold is discovered in the Transvaal, triggering the gold rush.

1890: Cecil John Rhodes elected as Prime Minister of the Cape

1893 – 1915: Mahatma Gandhi visits South Africa

1899 – 1902: South African (Boer) War British troops gather on the Transvaal border and ignore an ultimatum to disperse. The second Anglo-Boer War begins.

1902: Treaty of Vereeniging ends the second Anglo-Boer War. The Transvaal and Orange Free State are made self-governing colonies of the British Empire.

1909: South Africa Act

1910: Formation of Union of South Africa by former British colonies of the Cape and Natal, and the Boer republics of Transvaal, and Orange Free State.

The entire document can be downloaded below:

A chronology of key events in the history of South Africa